Some Lawrence & nearby community folklife related groups, activities and event calendars

There are an impressive number of folklife related groups and activities in our area.  While not directly connected to many of these organization, we support a wide range of community folklife activities that build community, and increase knowledge and skills.  Please report new potential groups to be added, or any corrections to the webmaster.


 

Folkdance Groups

Lawrence Contra Dance – http://www.lawrencebarndance.org/

Uptown Hoedown – Lawrence – http://www.uptownhoedown.org/

English Country Dance – Lawrence – http://www.kansasfolk.org/english/

Scandinavian Music and Dance – Lawrence – https://ingevald.wordpress.com/

Scandinavian Dancers of Kansas City –  https://www.facebook.com/scandinavianfolkdancerskc/

International Folk Dancing – Lawrence   http://www.kansasfolk.org/folkdance/

Arts of the Middle East -Lawrence –  http://www.gaziyeh.com/gaziyeh_inc.htm

Lawrence Tango Dancers – http://www.lawrencetango.org/

Happy Time Squares – Lawrence – http://www.happytimesquares.com/

KU Ballroom Dancing Club – no website

KU Swing Society – https://rockchalkcentral.ku.edu/organization/kuss

Sweat Your Prayers – Lawrence –  http://www.gabrielleroth.com/schedules_detail.asp?ScheduleID=503

Croatian Traditions (Kolo Night) – Kansas City – http://kctamburasi.com/

Barn Dance (Cross Currents) – Kansas City – http://www.crosscurrentsculture.org/Barn%20Dance/Barn%20Dance.htm

Camelot Ballroom – Kansas City (variety of dances) – http://www.camelotballroom.com/index.php?pr=Events

Topeka Folk Dancers – http://folkdancenotes.com/locations/tfd1.htm


 

Arts Organizations

Lawrence Arts Center  – http://lawrenceartscenter.org/

Lawrence Art Guild – http://www.lawrenceartguild.org/

Percolator – Lawrence – http://lawrence-percolator.blogspot.com/p/about-us.html

Van Go – Lawrence – http://www.van-go.org/

Spencer Museum of Art – http://www.spencerart.ku.edu/programs/calendar.shtml

Kansas, Grassroot, Outsider and Folk Art list – Kansas –  http://www.kansastravel.org/kansasart.htm


 

Concert Venues & Production

Theater Lawrence – http://www.theatrelawrence.com

Card Table Theater – Lawrence – http://www.cardtabletheatre.com/

West Side Folk – Lawrence –  http://www.westsidefolk.org/

Tuesday Concert Series – Lawrence – http://www.tuesdayconcert.com/

The Lawrence City Band – http://www.lawrencecityband.com/lcb/index.asp

Signs of Life – Lawrence –  http://www.signsoflifebooks.com/

Leid Center of Kansas – Lawrence –  http://www.lied.ku.edu/

Liberty Hall – Lawrence – http://www.libertyhall.net/

KC Folk Music – Kansas City –  http://www.crosscurrentsculture.org/KCFolkMusic/KCFolkMusic.htm

Last Minute Folk – Topeka – http://lmf.uuft.org/

Local Festivals & Events

Kansas Fiddling and Picking – Lawrence –   http://kansasfiddlingandpicking.org/

Nordic Heritage Festival – Lawrence –  http://ksnordicfest.com/

St. John’s Mexican Fiesta – Lawrence –  http://www.saint-johns.net/fiesta/

Earthday – Lawrence – http://www.lawrenceks.org/swm/earthday

Art Tougeau parade – Lawrence –  http://www.arttougeau.org/

Freestate Festival – Lawrence – http://lawrenceartscenter.org/free-state-festival/

Douglas County Fair – Lawrence – http://dgcountyfair.com/

St. Patrick’s Day Parade – Lawrence –  http://www.lawrencestpatricksdayparade.com/

Haskell Indian Nation University – Indian Art Market – Lawrence –  http://www.haskell.edu

Haskell Indian Nation University Pow Wow – Lawrence – http://www.haskell.edu

St. John’s Oktoberfest – Lawrence –  https://www.facebook.com/sjoktoberfest

Bizarre Bizarre – Lawrence – http://bizbazart.blogspot.com

Lawrence Busker Festival – http://www.lawrencebuskerfest.com/

Arts and Crafts Fairs (City of Lawrence ) – http://www.lawrenceks.org/lprd/specialevents/artsandcrafts

Festival of Cultures – Lawrence – http://www.lawrencealliance.org/festival-of-cultures

Spring Arts and Culture Festival (Spencer Museum of Art) – Lawrence –  http://www.spencerart.ku.edu/programs/calendar.shtml

Art in the Park – Lawrence –  http://www.lawrenceartguild.org/

Pilgrims Progression (Contra dance weekend) – Lawrence – http://www.lawrencebarndance.org/lbdawknd.htm

Scandinavian Winter Party (Julebukk) – Lawrence –  https://ingevald.wordpress.com/social-events-dances/

Pi Day – Lawrence – (March 14) – no website

3 Minutes or Less (variety show) – Lawrence – no website

Kaw Valley Seed Fair – Lawrence –  https://www.facebook.com/kawvalleyseeds

Kaw Valley Farm Tour – http://www.kawvalleyfarmtour.org/

Lawrence Bhakti Festival – http://www.lawrencebhaktifest.com/

Kaw Valley Eagles Day – Lawrence– http://www.kawvalleyeaglesday.com/events.php

Maple Leaf Festival – Baldwin City – http://www.mapleleaffestival.com/

Ethnic Enrichment Festival – Kansas City – http://eeckc.net/?page_id=130

Greater Kansas City Japan Festival – http://kcjas.org/kcjapanfestival

Wyandotte County Ethnic Festival – http://www.freewebs.com/wycoethnicfestival/

Folk Alliance Festival – Kansas City – http://www.folkalliance.org/conference/

Kansas City Irish Fest – http://www.kcirishfest.com/ 

Stringband Rendezvous  – Lawrence – http://www.stringbandrendezvous.com/

Walnut Valley Festival – Winfield – http://www.wvfest.com/

Kansas Sampler Festival – Kansas – http://www.kansassampler.org/festival/

Flint Hills Folklife Festival – Cottonwood Falls – https://www.facebook.com/FlintHillsFolkLifeFestival


Events Calendar / Notification

Lawrence dot com Events Calendar – http://www.lawrence.com/events/

Lawrence Public Library – Events – http://www.lawrence.lib.ks.us/news-events/

City of Lawrence – Events Calendar – https://www.lawrenceks.org/calendar

Kansas Public Radio – Events – http://www.kansaspublicradio.org/

Kansas Travel – Events http://www.travelks.com/calendar-of-events/

Lawrence Convention and Visitors Bureau – Events – http://www.visitlawrence.com/events

Lawrence Kids Calendar – http://lawrencekids.net/

Spencer Museum of Art – http://www.spencerart.ku.edu/programs/calendar.shtml

KU Natural History Museum – http://naturalhistory.ku.edu/events

Festival Net – Kansas –  http://festivalnet.com/state/kansas/ks.html

Student Union (University of Kansas) Activities – Lawrence –  http://suaevents.com/

Douglas County Senior Services – Lawrence – http://www.dgcoseniorservices.org/leisure-and-learning/

Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library – Events – http://tscpl.org/events

Cross Currents events –  Kansas City –     http://www.crosscurrentsculture.org/CrossCurrentsEventCalendar/Calendar.htm

Folk Alliance – http://www.folkalliance.org/events/

Meetup (event notification bulletin board)- http://www.meetup.com/

Evite (event notification system) – http://www.evite.com/


 

Participatory Music

Americana Music Academy – Lawrence & Topeka –  http://www.americanamusicacademy.org/

Kaw Valley Shape Note Society – Lawrence – http://www.kawshapenote.org/

Songwriters Circle (Cross Currents Kansas City area) http://www.crosscurrentsculture.org/SongwritersCircle/SongwritersCircle.htm

Folk Jam – http://www.folkjam.org/

Lawrence Irish Jam – at Henry’s in Lawrence – http://www.folkjam.org/recurring-jam/us/ks/lawrence/lawrence-irish-session

Local folk music jams – Lawrence –  various venues and locations

Lawrence Music Club (National Federation of Music Clubs) – http://www.nfmc-music.org/index.php?src=gendocs&ref=kansas&category=state


 

Food Production, Gardening

Common Ground Program (community gardening) – Lawrence –http://www.lawrenceks.org/common_ground

University of Kansas Student Farm – Lawrence –  http://kustudentfarm.wordpress.com/

Sunrise Project – Lawrence – http://www.sunriseprojectks.org

Healthy Sprouts – Lawrence – http://www.sunriseprojectks.org

Food Rocket – Lawrence – http://www.sunriseprojectks.org

Lawrence Farmers Market – http://www.lawrencefarmersmarket.com/

Kaw Valley Seed Fair – Lawrence – https://www.facebook.com/kawvalleyseeds

Lawrence Fruit Tree Project – Lawrence http://lawrencefruittreeproject.wordpress.com/

Kaw Valley Farm Tour – http://www.kawvalleyfarmtour.org/

Community Mercantile Education Foundation – Lawrence –  https://www.themerc.coop/what-is-cmef.cfm?

Kansas Community Gardens – http://www.kansascommunitygardens.org/resources.html

Douglas County Kansas Extension Master Gardeners – http://douglascountymastergardeners.org

Douglas County Extension – http://www.douglas.ksu.edu/p.aspx


 

Cultural Resources, Activities

Ingevalds Scandinavian music and dance resources – Lawrence – https://ingevald.wordpress.com/social-events-dances/

Kansas Folklore Society – http://skyways.lib.ks.us/orgs/kfs/

Four Winds Native Center – Lawrence –  https://www.facebook.com/fourwindsnativecenter

Kansas Folkmusic and Dance Resource Center  – http://www.kansasfolk.org/index.html

German School of Northeast Kansas – http://www.lawrencegermanschool.org/local.html

ECM at KU – Lawrence –  http://ecmku.org/

Kansas City Irish Center – http://www.irishcenterkc.org/

Cross Currents – Kansas City – http://www.crosscurrentsculture.org/

Ethnic Enrichment Commission – Kansas City – http://eeckc.net/

Sons of Norway – Kansas City – http://www.sofn-maihaugen.org/display/PUBLIC/Home

Kansas Sampler Foundation http://www.kansassampler.org


Handiwork Related Resources and Activities

Lawrence Creates Makerspace – http://lawrencecreates.com/about.html

Kansas City Woodworker’s Guild – http://www.kcwoodworkersguild.org/

Kaw Valley Quilter’s Guild – http://www.kawvalleyquiltersguild.org/

Kansas Alliance of Weavers and Spinners –  http://www.kansasweavers.com/index.html


 

Civic Resources and Activities

City of Lawrence Parks and Recreation – events and activities – http://www.lawrenceks.org/lprd

East Lawrence Neighborhood Association – http://www.eastlawrence.com/

Welcome To Lawrence – http://www.lawrencewelcome.com/community.html

Douglas County Senior Services – http://www.dgcoseniorservices.org/leisure-and-learning/


 

Classes

Lawrence Arts Center  – http://lawrenceartscenter.org/

The Lawrence Laboratory –  http://www.thelawrencelab.com

Americana Music Academy – Lawrence & Topeka –  http://www.americanamusicacademy.org/

Douglas County Senior Services – http://www.dgcoseniorservices.org/leisure-and-learning/  

German School of Northeast Kansas – http://www.lawrencegermanschool.org/local.html


 

Forum, Discussion and Activities

ECM at KU – Lawrence –  http://ecmku.org/


 

Young Person Participatory Activities & Resources

(There are many children and teenager related activities amongst the other links listed.  Below are ones that are more specific to younger folks)

Lawrence Kids Calendar – http://lawrencekids.net/

Lawrence Arts Center  – http://lawrenceartscenter.org/

Kansas 4-H – http://www.kansas4h.org/

Sunrise Project – Lawrence – http://www.sunriseprojectks.org

Healthy Sprouts – Lawrence – http://www.sunriseprojectks.org

Food Rocket – Lawrence – http://www.sunriseprojectks.org


 

Outdoor (mostly) & Nature Related Participatory Activities

Lawrence Mountain Bike Club – http://www.lawrencemountainbikeclub.org/

Lawrence Bicycle Club – http://www.lbc-cycling.com/index.html

Kansas Area Watershed Council – http://kawcouncil.wordpress.com/

Kaw Valley Herritage Alliance – http://www.kvha.org/

Kansas Native Plants Society – http://www.kansasnativeplantsociety.org/

Kaw Valley Mycological Society – http://www.sunflower.com/~pilott29/

Grassland Heritage Foundation – http://www.grasslandheritage.org

Prairie Park Nature Center – Lawrence – http://lawrenceks.org/lprd/ppnc

Jayhawk Audubon Society – Lawrence –  http://www.jayhawkaudubon.org/

Learning About Nature Project – Lawrence – http://www.jayhawkaudubon.org/node/9

Friends of the Kaw (Kansas Riverkeeper) – http://kansasriver.org

Orienteer Kansas – http://www.orienteerkansas.com/

Trails of Kansas – http://www.trailsofkansas.com/index.html

The Astronomy Associates of Lawrence – http://groups.ku.edu/~astronomy/

KU Natural History Museum – http://naturalhistory.ku.edu/events

Kaw Valley Eagles Day – http://www.kawvalleyeaglesday.com/events.php

Baker Wetlands Day -Lawrence –

Baker Wetlands Discovery Center – Lawrence – http://www.bakeru.edu/wetlands

Sierra Club (Wakarusa Group), Lawrence – http://kansas.sierraclub.org/wakarusa-group/


 

Writing and Storytelling

Caryn Mirriam Goldberg (poet laureate Kansas) – Lawrence –  http://carynmirriamgoldberg.com/

Kansas Regional Library Systems – Storytellers –  http://systems.mykansaslibrary.org/statewide-performer-directory/storytellers/

Kansas Storytelling Festival –  http://www.kansasstorytelling.com/


 

Media (with folk related content)

Kansas Public Radio – Lawrence –  http://www.kansaspublicradio.org/

KKFI – Kanas City – http://www.kkfi.org/

KCUR Public Radio – Kansas City – http://kcur.org/

KTWU TV – Sunflower Journeys – Topeka – http://www.ktwu.org/SJ/


 

History

Watkins Museum of History – Lawrence –  http://www.watkinsmuseum.org/

Kansapedia – Kansas Historical Society – http://www.kshs.org/portal_kansapedia

Kansas Sampler Foundation  – http://www.kansassampler.org

Douglas County history links – http://www.douglas-county.com/aboutus/our_history.aspx

Freedom’s Frontier – Lawrence – http://www.freedomsfrontier.org/Visitors/Upcoming-Events/

Kansas Memory (Kansas Historical Society) – http://www.kansasmemory.org/