Links to Similar Organizations, Projects & Resources

The number of links may be overwhelming, but would recommend exploring  Folklore VillageTapestry Folkdance Center and the Boulder Dance Coalition first, since our project goal closely resembles their facilities and programming.


 

Folklore Village – Dodgeville, WI.  http://www.folklorevillage.org/    Folklore Village excels at connecting the generations with a world of traditions.   They create opportunities for individuals and communities to celebrate, experience and support traditional folklife.   They offer an ongoing program of cultural, educational and participatory folklife activities in rural Southwest Wisconsin, serving regional communities and the upper midwest.    The organization was founded by Jane Farwell, starting in 1967 with the purchase of a one room schoolhouse across from her farm.   She had started a Christmas festival in 1947 that still continues today.   She was heavily involved with the Recreation Laboratory movement, teaching folk dance and socialization at rec lab camps all over the country.   By the early 1980’s, the organization evolved and was able to to build its flagship facility to house activities, a warm and welcoming environment with a main dance hall, kitchen, workshop spaces, storage, showers, etc.   Programming occurs on site and is also taken to other local locations such as schools.

Very good Folklore Village documentary    Folkore Village founder’s history – Jane Farwell

Tapestry Folkdance Center – Minneapolis, MN.  http://www.tapestryfolkdance.org/    Tapestry and its facility serves the Twin Cities area, home to many dance groups, classes and workshops.   It has a large dance hall, a smaller dance hall, a kitchen space and an office.  The group formed in 1983 and for many years had been at the mercy of the all too typical space rental challenges that included: rent increases and unavailability of functional spaces.   The need for concurrent spaces also complicated the picture.   By 1999 they had researched over 50 properties for rent and all had problems. In 1999 they finally found an old building that could be renovated.   A capital campaign raised about $174,000 and a McKnight Foundation grant helped with renovations, mainly the sprung wooden dance floor, and they’ve been fully operational since then.

Learn how Tapestry formed

Boulder Dance Coalition (formerly Village Arts Coalition) –  Boulder, CO.   http://www.boulderdancecoalition.org/  The Boulder Dance Coalition is a coalition of groups and individuals that are committed to promulgating traditional participatory art forms such as dance, music, singing, and storytelling.  Their first building purchase was the Pearl Street Studio in 1997, a place they had rented since 1990.  In August 2005, to meet the needs of their community, they purchased the Avalon Ballroom, which contains about 5 or so usable spaces including a very large dance hall.   They rent space to a large number of local non-profit and other community groups at very reasonable rates.  Their financial plan is the model we hope to adopt in Lawrence: acquiring an existing building through through equity partner funding, creating a Limited Liability Corporation, where funders are paid back in monthly installments, like a house mortgage payment, with income generated from the rents from the associated commercial property.

Avalon Ballroom –  Boulder, CO.  http://www.avalonevents.org/index.html

Turnverein Dance and Cultural Center – Denver, CO – http://www.denverturnverein.org/

Camelot Ballroom – Kansas City – http://www.camelotballroom.com/


 

The American Folklife Center – Washington, DC.  Created by Congress in 1976.  http://www.loc.gov/folklife/whatisfolklife.html

The American Folklife Center – KANSAS page – http://www.lcweb.loc.gov/folklife/states/kansas.html 

The Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage – Washington, DC. http://www.folklife.si.edu/center/about_us.html

New York Folklore Society –  http://www.nyfolklore.org/index.html

Philadelphia Folklore Project http://www.folkloreproject.org

Oregon Folklife Network – http://ofn.uoregon.edu/2014/09/05/welcome-to-the-oregon-folklife-network/ Good information on the value of folklife, etc.  Plan For the Oregon Folklife Network

Virginia Folklife Program – http://virginiafolklife.org

Oklahoma Folklife Center –  http://www.okhistory.org/research/folklife.php

Jersey Shore Folklife Center – http://www.tuckertonseaport.org/jersey-shore-folklife-center/

Western Folklife Center – Nevada – http://www.westernfolklife.org/

Cultural Crossroads – Kansas City – http://www.culturalcrossroads-kc.org

Culture Tools – Philadelphia, PA –  http://www.culturetools.org/


 

Smithsonian Folklife Festival – Washington D.C. – http://www.festival.si.edu/visitor-information/general-information/smithsonian

Kansas Folklife Festival (archived data from 1979-1989) – http://www.kshs.org/archives/194270

Northwest Folklife Festival – Seattle, WA – http://www.nwfolklife.org/

Blue Ridge Folklife Festival – Ferrum VA – http://blueridgefolklifefestival.com

Texas Folklife Festival – San Antonio, TX – http://www.texancultures.com/festivals_events/texas_folklife_2015/

There are many other folklife festivals that can be added in the future


 

The Country Dance and Song Society (CDSS) – http://www.cdss.org/

Dance Flurry Organization – http://www.danceflurry.org/about.php

Folk Dance Association – http://www.folkdancing.org/

Folk Alliance International – http://www.folkalliance.org/

The Lloyd Shaw Foundation – http://www.lloydshaw.org

Sing Out – http://singout.org

Puttin’ On The Dance –  http://www.puttinonthedance.org

Contra Dance Links – http://www.contradancelinks.com


 

Redwood Recreation Leadership Laboratory – Rec Lab – California –  http://vincecorsaro.blogspot.com/p/about-recreation-laboratory.html

Northland Recreation Laboratory – Minnesota –   http://northlandreclab.org  History of Northland Recreation Laboratory

Great Lakes Recreation Leaders Lab – Michigan – http://www.greatlakesreclab.com

Folk Education Association of America – Florence, MA –  http://peopleseducation.org/about/

John C. Campbell Folk School – Brasstown, NC –    https://folkschool.org/index.php

The Clearing Folk School – Ellison Bay, WI – http://www.theclearing.org/

Driftless Folk School – Viroqua, WI –  http://driftlessfolkschool.org/courses/

Old Town School of Folk Music – Chicago, IL – http://www.oldtownschool.org/aboutus/

Northern Susitna Institute – http://northernsusitnainstitute.org/about-us-2/mission-values-and-beliefs/

Harveyville Project – Harveyville, KS – http://harveyvilleproject.com

Appalshop – VA – http://appalshop.org


Urban Agriculture Related projects

Growing Home – http://growinghomeinc.org

Our School at Blair Grocery – http://schoolatblairgrocery.blogspot.com/p/about-osbg.html

Growing Power – http://www.growingpower.org/


 

Kansas Citizens for the Arts –  http://www.kansasarts.org/


Folk Museums and related resources

Nordic Heritage Museum – Seattle, WA – https://www.nordicmuseum.org

Vesterheim Museum – Decorah, IA – http://vesterheim.org


 

City of Lawrence – useful resources

Cultural District Task Force – Lawrence – http://www.lawrenceks.org/boards/cultural-district-task-force     Recommendations for Enhancing the Lawrence Cultural DistrictRecommendations for Enhancing the Lawrence Cultural District – 6.4 Mb file (LF copy)

PlaceMakers Charrette Report (SmartCode) –  Charrette Report – Smart Code Calibration – Lawrence – 45.5 Mb file size

Cultural Arts Director – City of Lawrence – Porter Arneill Contact information  

Lawrence Cultural Arts Commission – https://www.lawrenceks.org/boards/lawrence-cultural-arts-commission


 

Volunteer Resources

Volunteer Match – https://www.volunteermatch.org/

Volunteer Kansas – http://www.volunteerkansas.org/

Truist – Volunteer – http://volunteer.truist.com/uwodc-5/org/dir-all.html

Kansas Volunteer Commission – http://community.ksde.org/Default.aspx?tabid=4527

The Big Event KU – Volunteer day – http://thebigeventku.com/

KU Volunteer Fair – https://career.ku.edu/volunteerfair

The United Way Roger Hill Volunteer Center – http://www.volunteerdouglascounty.org/


Youth Volunteer & Educational Resources

Youth Volunteer Corps of Greater Kansas City http://www.yvckc.org

Youth Summits, A How To Guide – National Parks Service – http://www.nps.gov/nr/twhp/youthsummits/How_to_Guide.html

How To Hold a Youth Summit (Search Institute publication)  How to Hold a Youth Summit – 2.3 Mb file (LF copy)

Search Institute – http://www.search-institute.org

HOPE Crew – (Hands on Preservation Experience) National Trust for Historic Preservation – http://www.preservationnation.org/hopecrew/#.VWeE4abXlR2

Teaching With Historic Places – National Park Service – http://www.nps.gov/nr/twhp/whyplaces.htm

 

Folklife related reference articles – links and files

Most information is available on the active websites outlined in the left column.   There are also a few links to specific files associated with those sites. Additional files will be placed here.


Article – Having a Ball: Young New Yorkers Revive Old Dance Craze